Home/SB NAS Build Feedback Request

rmblr

Dabbler
Hi folks,

I've been lurking for some months now, soaking up as much info as I can. I've finally got the budget to build my FreeNAS setup, so I'm humbly submitting it for you feedback.

Goals
  • Build a NAS for personal and business use (I'm a freelance software engineer)
  • No plex/media transcoding streaming
  • Long term storage and archival
  • Expandable storage
  • Budget ~1400 EUR
Use Cases

• Home media storage (repeat: no transcoding required): photos and video: periodic writing of mid-large size files and infrequent random read (aka, storing new photos videos daily and periodically browsing old media)
  • Reliable and performant access to work storage (package/dependency mirrors, docker images, debian pkgs, npm modules etc): frequent R/W of many small files
  • Running several services in VMs (nextcloud, sync/backup daemons, other home/work services to migrate off of public cloud services as necessary)
  • Many (30+) ephemeral VMs used several at a time for development during my work day
The Build

I know for some it is popular to buy used server pulls, but here in Europe this is a little more difficult. First, the don't seem to be as available, second the cost savings from used hardware is mitigated by the fact that buying used often means paying VAT. Whereas if I buy new from a normal vendor, I can save 19-20% on VAT.

Case: Inter-Tech 3U-30255 3U €120
Motherboard: Supermicro X11SCH-F €216
CPU: Intel Core i3-8100 (socket 1151 coffee lake) €124
RAM: 2x16GB Samsung M391A2K43BB1-CTD DDR4-2666 ECC UDIMM €168
CPU Cooler: Arctic Freezer 12 CO (ACFRE00030A) €20
Power Supply: Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 550W ATX 2.4 (SSR-550GD2) €93
SATA Cables: 6 pack SATA cables €8
Quiet Fans: Arctic P12 120mm fans, 5-pack €18

Pre-storage subtotal: €766.66

Boot Drive: Intenso High Performance SSD 120GB, SATA (3813430) €16
vdev1: WD My Book (shucked) 8TB x2 €227
vdev2: WD Red 8TB x2 €401

Storage subtotal: €644