Home NAS Server Build: Suggestions

ECC

Explorer
Hello,
I'm new to TrueNAS, so i wanted to share my current setup plan with you:
Usecase:
  • Main Storage (all SATA) for 5x 8TB and 3x 5TB. Access via SMB, 1-2 User. Atm only via GBit LAN
  • use of ECC
  • No 24/7 Runtime, scheduled runtime / Access with WOL (Powerconsumption)
  • optional: Upgrade to 10GBit (when price is dropping)
  • enough Power for future projects (1-2VMs, but nothing to crazy)
  • Storage: Pool 1: 5x8TB RaidZ2, Pool 2: 3x5TB RaidZ1
  • Boot Pool: 2x 120 GB SSD SATA Mirror
  • Backup: 2x14TB USB 3.0 -> backup strategy not decided yet...
After long research, I narrowed it down to the following setup:
  • Intel Core i3-8100, boxed
  • Fujitsu D3644-B
  • be quiet! Pure Power 11 CM 400W ATX
  • MZHOU PCIe SATA 6 Port, PCIe to SATA Marvell 88SE9215 (Mainboard only has 6xSATA Ports)
not decided yet:
RAM:
  • 1x Kingston Server Premier DIMM 32GB, DDR4-3200, CL22-22-22, ECC (KSM32ED8/32ME) OR
  • 2x Kingston Server Premier DIMM 16GB, DDR4-2666, CL19-19-19, ECC (KSM26ED8/16ME)
CASE:
  • SilverStone Case Storage CS380 V2 OR
  • Fractal Design Define R5 Black
Questions:
  • good setup for my usecase? suggestions?
  • RAM: what is the better option? Will TrueNAS profit from Dual Channel RAM? 32GB enough?
  • Case (pro arguments):
    • Silverstone:
      • HotSwap feature (HDD status LED). Otherwise, if one drive fails, how do I know which drive to replace?
    • Fractal:
      • It looks like it has a better quality than the Silverstone case
      • Noise Damping
      • maybe better airflow?
  • Power supply sufficient? Staggered Spin Up necessary / supported?
  • MZHOU Sata PCIe Card Extension: Supported via TrueNAS? Known issues? Alternatives?
I hope you can help me with this, thank you!

jayecin

Explorer