BUILD Help with Xeon Plex server build w/ some virtualization

Status
Not open for further replies.

Freakin

Cadet
First, this forum is amazing for the huge wealth of knowledge on FreeNAS and ZFS in general.

I've got an aged media server running on Win2k8 (with a now-broken FlexRAID install I use just for pooling) and it's time to replace.

I have some ZFS experience from building a NAS for some friends that I provide IT support for (Xeon w/ 32GB ECC, 12x WD RE4 drives, ~500GB L2ARC & 20GB ZIL on SLC NAND) that handles about 150 running VMs over iSCSI. This is running on OpenFiler/OpenIndiana and is about 4 years old at this point.

My need is primarily for media storage, but my ESXi server (w/ local storage) also died so I'd like to build something that could handle low-moderate VM workloads over iSCSI or NFS. I will likely not be running VMs directly on the NAS.

I've been a long-term XBMC/Kodi user but recently I've been planning a switch to Plex. I'm looking for a build that will handle 4-6 simultaneous 1080p streams/transcodes (mostly inside the network), as well as all media downloading (sab/CP/sickbeard) without choking on a badly damaged set of rar files.

Here's what I'm looking at right now

Mainboard:Supermicro 10SRH-CLN4F-O
CPU: Intel Xeon E5-1620
Memory: (2x) Samsung M393A4K40BB0-CPB = 64GB total
Case:Leaning towards a 3U Norco (RPC-3216) unless I can get a deal on a used SuperMicro
Power Supply:Seasonic X-1050 (I require at least 700-750 peak by my calculations)
Disk: (10x) WD RED 6TB

So a few questions

1) Should I get that SuperMicro board with integrated LSI controller (which I'd probably have to flash to IT mode anyway) and 4 gigabit ports, or just get a different model in the same family and use a M1015 instead for extra sata ports?

2) Knowing I want to support some virtual machines, what should I do for L2ARC? Would something like a pair of ~250gb MLC or TLC SSDs striped be effective?