Help with TrueNas core

Josh1200

Dabbler
Hello i am new with TrueNas.

I just want a save truenass server for backupping picture's video's and stuff. I use a pc with this specs:

Intel Core i3 4400 Proecessor
ASRock B85M-DGS
8 gb ram dddr3

3X Seagate HDD NAS 3.5" 2TB ST2000VN004 IronWolf

I installed truenas core but i want to use raid 5 But. i dont see that option. Is RaidZ the same?

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler

Josh1200

Dabbler
Keep in mind the minimum requirement is 16 GB.

You might want to read this (shameless plug alert): https://www.truenas.com/community/resources/introduction-to-zfs.111/
yeah i know if it works well i will upgrade to 16gb but its a old pc of mine so i will see how it works like this first. But thanks for telling me.

I read teh article. but the part i dont understand is. That i bought 3x 2tb disk because i want to do raid 5 but on true nas that is raidZ2 but i dont see that option i dont understand why

Josh1200

Dabbler
I only see three options
1676330133017.png

Josh1200

Dabbler
  • raid5 or raidz distributes parity along with the data and can lose one physical drive before a raid failure. Because parity needs to be calculated raid 5 is slower then raid0, but raid 5 is much safer. RAID 5 requires at least three hard disks in which one(1) full disk of space is used for parity.
Is this correct?

danb35

Hall of Famer

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
  • raid5 or raidz distributes parity along with the data and can lose one physical drive before a raid failure. Because parity needs to be calculated raid 5 is slower then raid0, but raid 5 is much safer. RAID 5 requires at least three hard disks in which one(1) full disk of space is used for parity.
Is this correct?
Broadly, yes, RAIDZ1 is similar in functionality to RAID5.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
this is what the article says ", RAIDZ1 is roughly equivalent to RAID5,"

So i dont understand what you mean.