Help with setting up ZFS as a beginner

4w4tts

Cadet
Hi,
My storage media:
- My Passport (WDC WD20NMVW-11EDZS2) 2TB USB external HDD
- An old 1TB laptop HDD (2.5”) now in an HDD caddy inside my laptop (connected through the internal SATA port for the ODD)
- An old 1TB 3.5” HDD that connects via a SATA-USB adapter

I've ran badblocks on the two 1TB drives without any errors and the SMART values are all good.

I have about 12GB of non-ECC RAM on an ASUS X556UQK laptop.

Being on Linux for a while now, I'd like to try a CoW filesystem. Btrfs doesn't have any native encryption. ZFS with its native encryption sounds a bit easier to me than having to add another layer of complexity. So I'm going to settle on ZFS, at least for now, but I'm totally new to these concepts, and since I want to have my data encrypted and secured ASAP, I'm in a hurry to set things up. Where can I best learn the essentials? Is this guide recommended?

Is it possible to stripe (not sure if it's the correct term) the two 1TB drives and use the whole set as a mirror for the 2TB drive? Would you recommend that?

In case of temporarily not having access to one of the disks, would it become impossible to access the rest of my data in the available ones?

I want to check globally against data corruption, but only having redundancy/mirrors/snapshots for the most important data such as family photos, etc. OS images and things like that are not much important and therefore, I don't want to have redundancy for them.

And one of the complicated questions is about wiping the 2TB drive. I mean, I have the two 1TB drives already wiped, and now I need to wipe the 2TB one after moving the data on it to somewhere safe and encrypted. Is it possible with ZFS to first encrypt the two 1TB drives for moving the data on the 2TB NTFS drive to them? I'm doing this to make everything unrecoverable in case of a theft or something.