Help with Resilvering

Status
Not open for further replies.

Falcon559

Cadet
Hello, I am a bit of a noob when it comes to some in depth FreeNas knowledge. My issue is that resilvering is taking way to long. Below is the details and the feeble steps I have taken to try and remedy it.:

FreeNAS Version: FreeNAS-11.0-U4
Hardware details: Super X10DRi-T Motherboard 2U Chassis Intel Xeon E5-2603 v3 @ 1.60GHz 16 Gigs of RAM
Use Case Info: Backup Storage
Overview of the issue: Resilvering is taking way to long. 6 days and only at 73% for one drive failure.
Pool Configuration: RaidZ2-0, 8 drives 6TB HGST Model # HUS726060ALE610
Sharing Protocols: ISCSI
Client's OS's: Windows
Steps taken to resolve the issue: Added these tunables - I see no speed increase: vfs.zfs.top_maxinflight=128 vfs.zfs.resilver_min_time_ms=5000 vfs.zfs.resilver_delay=0

I am thinking it is a ram limitation but I am not sure. It is pegged for sure. I just wanted to throw this out there to see if I am doing something stupid.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
Steps taken to resolve the issue: Added these tunables - I see no speed increase: vfs.zfs.top_maxinflight=128 vfs.zfs.resilver_min_time_ms=5000 vfs.zfs.resilver_delay=0

I am thinking it is a ram limitation but I am not sure. It is pegged for sure. I just wanted to throw this out there to see if I am doing something stupid.
I wouldn't be mean and say it was stupid, because it isn't really, but what you have is sub-optimal. When you are doing iSCSI, and with as much storage as you should have given the information you provided, you should probably have a little more RAM.
Can you give some more information though because something that will have a significant impact is the amount of data present on the pool.
I have a storage server at work that uses 6TB drives and have had to replace three since the system has been up. The time to resilver is usually about 5 days for me, but I have the pool about half full of data.