Help with accessing server remotely - advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

ironfelix717

Dabbler
Hi,

Just built my first home FreeNAS box. Successfully was able to set up all the basics, like data sets, users/groups, permissions and SMB shares, etc..... Cool! A good learning experience, as I'm new to servers/networking.

Now, I would like to learn about how to actually make this box useful... like remote connection. aka, 80% of the purpose of a NAS box IMO... I just purchased a VPN service to accommodate any remote security.

So it seems everyone in the community takes the following positions on remote freeNAS servers...

1.) Don't open up any ports.. ever (my response: what is the point of a server if you can't access it remotely)
2.) If you need to do remote access, do it with a VPN/Jail
3.) If you don't have a VPN, do it through SSH tunnel with keys

That leaves me with trying the VPN/Jail method. But I'll be honest, my networking knowledge is weak. And as to be expected, networking isn't a great beginner-friendly topic. So, I've thoroughly looked at the guide here: https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...-6-with-access-to-remote-hosts-via-nat.22873/
which has left me very unconfident. I don't quite understand OpenVPN/Jails and I'm not comfortable with a SSH terminal, but I can learn... I've also considered this guide:
https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...r-freenas-server-remotely-and-securely.27376/
And once again, I'm very unconfident in what I'm doing.

Even if I could follow the first guide on VPN/Jail, I still don't understand it. So, I come here for some advice to first make sure what I am attempting to do is feasible and secure...

What I want to achieve is the following:
1) Secure remote connection: as secure as possible
2) The 5 users currently configured with SMB shares can access their datasets remotely via web browser, or client software.
3) No special client (like Putty) 'required' to access files