Help with a couple of hardware setup issues

ricostuart

Cadet
Hi all,

I'm very new to using TrueNAS and Linux software in general. However, saying that, I've changed my QNAP box to run on TrueNAS and have found it running much better. So, the issues I currently am having and I hope someone can guide me through some of them.

1. I have a TVS 473e box with 32Gb RAM, 4x8TB drives and 2x500GB M.2 drives (for backend stuff). Also installed is a 1050ti LP card. Its all been running great using Emby as my media server software on the box for a couple of years. Now TrueNAS seems to see the graphics cards (as it is recognised under Settings-Advanced-Isolate GPU). However, if I type nvidia-cmi in the shell, it says:

NVIDIA-SMI has failed because it couldn't communicate with the NVIDIA driver. Make sure that the latest NVIDIA driver is installed and running.

As such, transcoding can only been done via software as the card doesn't show up on the Emby hardware list. The little CPU cannot handle that at all. I have tried this with both the GPU isolated and without it. Same issue either way. Should it be isolated for use with the apps?

2. My UPS is connected via USB but it keeps showing as disconnecting every 30 seconds or so when a monitor is connected. Its (I know it was cheap) an Amazon 400VA UPS (basically a CyperPower BR700ELCD-UK but with a crappier battery, no display and no ports). Again, it was cheap but it does work and has saved the server a couple of times now from power cuts. Is there a way I can see why its disconnecting then immediatly reconnecting? Is there a way of seeing its stats via the gui?