Help! Removed "half" of the volume, trying to recover files.

Status
Not open for further replies.

simbasimb

Cadet
Ok sorry english is my second language, and im a complete noob to linux or freenas.

Here is what happened:

I have Freenas set up, 1 SSD for freenas, an 4TB HDD as my first storage drive,
i moved all my files from my windows to the 4TB HDD on my nas via lan internet cables.
then i add another 3TB HDD (no data) towards the original volume on my nas, so i have total a 7TB.

Today im wanted to remove that 3TB HDD back to my windows since my PC needs that space more than my nas ( my total file is about 2 tb).

As i assume all my data must be all on the 4TB drive, i use the "wipe" option on 3TB drive without checking the "remove data" option.
then i cant get access to my data no more, cant remount it on freenas either since it doenst have the path.

How do i get access to my files or should i leave it and give it to professional data recoveries?

BTW all datas are my lifetime digital photos so i really want it back safely

Thank you

cyberjock

Inactive Account
You are screwed. You cannot add and remove disks from pools that have no redundancy. You literally did exactly what my "noobie guide" was designed to warn against.

Sorry, but your data is gone for good unless you are willing to spend 5-figures in US dollars to get it back. You also won't get all of your data back. Approximately 4/7ths of the data will be available, with a high degree of probability that many files will be missing sections that were located on the 3TB drive.

simbasimb

Cadet
You are screwed. You cannot add and remove disks from pools that have no redundancy. You literally did exactly what my "noobie guide" was designed to warn against.