Help needed salvaging data from pool to another drive.

Hi all.
I'm pretty new to Truenas but I have been able to turn an old Del server into a truenas device, flashing the controller card and running a fan script to keep the wind tunnel at bay.

All been running great until yesterday when the shares dropped out during moving files between folders and I got the dreaded boot loop.

I was right in the middle of organising my files and creating backups when this happened too. I wanted the Nas to keep a backup of all my software instruments.

My truenas is set up as:

8 3tb drives with 4 mirrored pairs as one pool. So I basically have half usable capacity as I wanted to have some redundancy.

Where I am at.

I have to unplug two specific drives in order for truenas to boot. The pool is then missing.
I can then import the pool back in but only in read-only mode, once I plug the two drives back in.

The shares appear and are active in truenas but the network folders are just empty.

It looks like two drives on the same mirrored pair has errors.

I'm struggling to find out how exactly to go about copying all the data off the pool onto another external drive or device so I can retry creating a new pool and copy back incase the drives are actually fine. I'd like to be able to copy the data in small chunks instead of all as one if that's possible.

Also just wanted to ask if I replace the two drives using the replacement drives function will it just copy the pool errors over and still not work?

I'm still very new to all the terminology that is used with true as so go easy on me.

Regards

chuck32

Guru
Can you list your hardware in detail please? Especially since you mentioned a controller card.

What drives do you need to remove?

What is the output of zpool status? You need to enter that in the shell.

Can you list your hardware in detail please? Especially since you mentioned a controller card.

What drives do you need to remove?