SOLVED Help me improve my transfer rates please :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

zpliptzy

Dabbler
So, heads up: I am very new to NAS terminology. I got tired of having the same data across all the computers on my network, so I backed it all up, and created my NAS from the following hardware:

Intel D2500HN CPU/Motherboard (Intel Atom D2500 cpu-dual core 1.8GHz processor)
8gb DDR3
4x2TB SATA drives

I have a random 2-port SATA card plugged into the PCI slot to be able to handle all the drives. I installed FreeNas 8 64 bit successfully, configured it in the most basic way possible following this guide:
http://www.pcworld.com/article/241978/how_to_build_your_own_networkattached_storage_system.html

I also input settings from the 2nd post from protosd on this post:
http://forums.freenas.org/showthread.php?5338-Browsing-directories

When copying files to the shared folder on the NAS, I get about 1MB/s transfers. While reading, I am able to read standard def media, but hi-def is kinda choppy. I dont need screaming speeds, just want to stream my media to my computers ;( The NAS is connected via ethernet, the client computers are wirelessly connected. Help please!

zpliptzy

Dabbler
So after a bit of work, I got tired of it all and went back to square one. I removed all the tunables, and the stuff that was in the Aux Parameters in my CIFS shares properties. So now I'm back to basically a fresh install. For now, all my computers are connected directly to the router via ethernet cables, and I get transfer rates of about 10 MB/s. So connecting directly helped, but I've read that some people are getting 50+MB/s, and I'd like to know what I'm missing.

praecorloth

Contributor