Hello All - Build Verification

Status
Not open for further replies.

Byrd910

Cadet
Hello all - I'm new here in the community, but have been reading for some time. I'm a System Engineer by profession, and have worked some with supporting enterprise solutions such as NetApp in the past.

I've decided to finally bite the bullet after wanting to do so for a while, and move my four 2TB disks into a FreeNAS box (they're currently split between my gaming desktop and my workstation). I mainly want to build this for the learning aspect (I've always got some new thing on the horizon), but it will also be nice to set up some CIFS shares and have Plex built-in.

I'd like any feedback people have on my proposed build and pool plans:

Build Components:
Motherboard: Supermicro X10SLL-F (LGA1150 socket)

Processor: i3-4170 (from what I can tell based on the information cyberjock posted regarding ECC with gen2-3, gen4 actually DOES support ECC)

RAM: Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR3/DDR3L-1600MT/s (PC3-12800) DR x8 ECC UDIMM

PSU: Corsair 430w modular 80+ certified

Case: Fractal Design Node 804

Hard drives: 4xSeagate Barracuda 2TB 7,200 RPM SATA III 6Gb/s

OS Storage: Samsung 32GB FIT Flash Drive

Pool Plan:

After reading and researching this for a while, my plan is to create a pool with two mirrored vdevs (so basically RAID0+1), using my four 2TB disks. I'm fine with losing the extra disk space for the performance benefits, the speed of resilvering, and the ease of upgrading the pool (either adding more mirrors or upgrading existing disks). Nothing on the pool will be irreplaceable, and I'm a little over-obsessed with keeping backups of my critical files anyway, so those will be safe.