HDD failure, several problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

monarchdodra

Explorer
So I had an HDD die out on me. Drives die, but it is what happened afterwards that kind of bothers me:

1) I did not receive any diagnostics about this. my "root" has an email address set, and I receive notifications when replications fail, for example. On reboot, FreeNas failed to detect an HDD, and did not even send an email notification about this???? Is this normal, did I miss a setting somewhere? If one of my drives die, I expect to be notified ASAP. Am I expected to log into the WebGUI daily to make sure everything is running fine?

2) I finally understood what was going on when I went to the WebGUI. This is not something I do very often anymore. There was a blinking yellow "warning" light. I'm not an professional network admin, but if a server fails to load all its mounts, isn't this a "critical" error? When looking at my pools, the only message was "Could not get drive size" (or something similar, I don't remember). I'm not fluent in freeBSD, but can't it detect that I just plain removed the drive because it was dead? Did I "only" get a warning because FreeNAS did a wrong diagnos

3) (minor) In the Alert System window here:
Clipboard01.png
The message does not fit into the actual alert system box.

----
I'm still a FreeNAS newby, but I expect that if an hdd craps out on me:
1) I receive an email.
2) The WegGUI notes a critical error.

Am I wrong in my way of assessing the situation?

PS: Did not find this reported yet. Sorry if duplicate.

We are testing FreeNAS 8 here at my office, and, during testing, I've noticed this same problem - possibly a little worse, actually. As a part of our testing, we physically removed a SATA drive from a RAID-Z2 RAID-set in a running system to simulate a critical failure of a member disk.