HDD Configuration & Other Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam71

Dabbler
Hi all,

I am new to FreeNas and coming from a windows server background!

I am setting up my old windows server box into a FreeNas box using 2 16gb usb 3 flash drives! (Will try and enable usb 3)

It has 24gb ram with 6x500gb drives (currently raid 5 on M/B) & 2x1tb drives mirrored via simple raid card!

I understand that I will need to put the raid 5 drives back to individual drives so that ZFS can be setup through FreeNas! What would the best setup be using the drives that I have installed as I don't want to spend anymore on this box! I back up to a usb hard drive but would still like some form of redundancy!

If I just used the 500gb drives for now can I add another set of drives later? I am trying to get my head around pools etc.

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
Well, I recommend to use your 6 or 8 drives in a RAID-Z2 vdev. Of course if you use the 8 drives you lose 500GB on each 1TB drive.

For more info you can read Cyberjock's guide (link in his sig or my sig) ;)

Sam71

Dabbler
Well, I recommend to use your 6 or 8 drives in a RAID-Z2 vdev. Of course if you use the 8 drives you lose 500GB on each 1TB drive.

For more info you can read Cyberjock's guide (link in his sig or my sig) ;)

From what I have read and understand is that I could replace the 500gb drives over time with 1tb drives and when I replaced all 6 500gb drives I would then have 6tb of storage space! Am I correct? Or because the 1tb drives start off as 500gb in theory it will not work?

Bidule0hm

Yes, exactly ;)

Sam71

Dabbler
Oh the other issue will it still work with the drives being on different controllers? I assume it is!

Bidule0hm

Yep, a whole another world :D