Hardware Specs for New Build (links included)

Status
Not open for further replies.

amitkhas

Dabbler
Hello,

I would like to build a network drive that I can use to store media files (pics, music, videos), and be able to stream 1080p movies from it. I haven't decided yet between RAIDZ and RAIDZ2. I am planing to purchasing 6x 2TB HDDs for a total usable of 10TB (RAIDZ) or 8TB (RAIDZ2).

I'm new to NAS, FreeNAS, RAID, and ZFS, so I'm not 100% sure on what kind of hardware I would need. Here's something I put together. I would like to get some thoughts before I spend the cash.

Note: I wasn't planning on doing any kind of overclocking, unless it is recommended. Thus, I haven't budgeted anything for cooling.

Case: Link N/A
I have an old, cheap ATX case I am planning to use. PSU is top mounted. Has 4x 3.5 bays and 4x 5.25 bays. I was going to get a 5.25 cage so I can insert another 2-4 HDDs. Has a rear 120mm fan, and 2x side panel 120mm fans.

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68AP-D3

CPU: Intel i5 2500K

NOTE: There's currently a bundle deal in which the Motherboard and CPU totals for $220. I was originally thinking Intel i3, but $20 more gets me Intel i5.

Ram: CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 - $28 after mail-in-rebate
I am not sure what kind, or how much RAM would be appropriate. Does DDR2 vs. DDR3 make difference? 8GB sufficient, or 16gb? Need at least 1000 speed? 1333? 1600?

Video Card: None. When streaming to a HDTV, I'll be using a WDTV Live or Logitech Revue. These devices can access shared files on home network and stream them to TV w/ HDMI out.

PSU: SPARKLE FSP530-60GNA 530W
This is actually an old PSU that I have. Hence, price is $0. Purchased 03/31/2005.

HDDs: 6x 2TB Hard Drives.