BUILD Hardware recommendations for FreeNAS on VMware ESXi

Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeS

Cadet
Hi,

I'm new to FreeNAS and have had a tiny amount of experience with ESXi, after Christmas I'm going to build a white box ESXi server and (amongst other things) install FreeNAS on it. I'd like some suggestions on my hardware choices and upgrade strategy please.

In my desktop I currently have 4x1.5TB drives in a RAID 5 array and 2x1TB in a mirror. I've also bought a Antec 1200 case. This is my rough specification but I am completely open to suggestions and I don't want to buy myself in to a corner and find that my system has issues with ESXi/ZFS.

• AM3+ motherboard that supports 32GB ECC RAM, something like an Asus M5A97 R2. EDIT: M5A99X EVO R2 has confirmed support for IOMMU.
  • Piledriver based 8 core CPU - FX 8320 or 8350
  • Kingston Value RAM - 2x8GB ECC, I'll buy another 16GB when RAM prices become a bit more sensible.
  • ~500W 80+ PSU
  • M1015 SATA controller in IT mode
  • 4x WD Red 3TB
  • 256GB SSD - to run VMs off
Can anyone spot any issues with this hardware or can anyone recommend any better alternatives?
I'm going to create a RAIDZ2 VDEV with the 3TB WD REDs, what might happen is I run out of money and decide to only buy three hard drives and then buy the fourth a month or two later. If this happens then what I was thinking of doing is creating the RAIDZ2 in a degraded state (with only one parity drive) and then adding the fourth afterwards. Is this possible/advisable? What disadvantages does this hold over RAIDZ1? (I assume that there must be some or everyone would do it.)
After I fill this pool then I would like to add some more WD RED 3TB drives, I'm not sure if this is possible but what I was hoping to do is:
  1. Buy four more 3TB drives.
  2. Add one parity drive from the existing VDEV.
  3. Add two 3TB virtual hard drives in ESXi (using the 4x1.5TB drives mentioned earlier.)
  4. Create an 8 drive RAIDZ2 VDEV (With one drive missing)