Hardware configuration - Dual boot Win 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phil Demand

Dabbler
Noob here.
When building my system, I bought a board with 7 SATA III ports. Asrock FM2A85X extreme6. I bought 4 2TB Western Digital Red drives which I intended to raid in FreeNAS, and a 32gb SSD which I intended to use to boot into Windows 7 from time to time.

So I installed Windows on the SSD, then installed FreeNAS on a USB stick. Everything setup as planned (raidz on the NAS drives, and I didn't touch the SSD), but when I tried to F-11 boot using the SSD, the message on screen was something about the drive being used by FreeNAS, even with the USB stick unplugged.

I understand running FreeNAS in a virtual environment within Windows is not desirable. Do I need a separate raid card to dual boot?

J

jkh

I would use the SSD as an L2ARC for the FreeNAS install and boot windows 7 on an entirely separate system. You're only robbing peter to pay paul in setting up a dual boot system, and as you've already found out, trying to get the BIOS configured to boot back and forth properly will be... challenging!

Phil Demand

Dabbler
I don't have an entirely separate system, and I don't have unlimited funds to expand this system. Any other tips?

J

jkh

I don't have an entirely separate system, and I don't have unlimited funds to expand this system. Any other tips?