Hard drive configuration advice

Johnpants

Dabbler
Good morning all,

New to the forum, but I have been using FreeNAS now for about 2 years. A guy I used to work with introduced me to it, along with Plex and have been happily using it to share my media with family and a couple of friends trouble free, until yesterday.:eek:

I came home to a clicking noise coming from the server and instantly knew one of the drives was in a bad way. Upon inspection it has died, I've done my best to try and revive it short term but no joy.

I've done some reading and now realise that it was configured to be striped (RAID0 equivalent?) and losing that drive means i've lost everything (luckily all important files were backed up separately). After a couple of hours crying i've come accept this now and looking to move on.

The server spec is fine for handling everything, essentially it is just a NAS box. I host Plex on a different machine. My issue is where I go moving forward to ensure redundancy should a drive fail again and hoping someone here is kind enough to confirm I am heading in the right direction or if i'm making a mistake.

So my server has 6 SATA connections and I was running the following:
1x320GB drive as an OS drive
1x2TB + 2x1TB striped in 1 vol(vdev?)

My next plan is to remove the 320GB drive and put the OS on a USB flash drive, freeing up all 6 connections for storage, and the following configuration for the disks:

1x3TB + 1x1TB vol1
1x3TB + 1x1TB vol2