GUI very slow & and newbie questions

Manticore

Cadet
Hey guys!

I am new to TrueNAS and new to the forums. I'm running into a few issues that I really need to resolve before making my move permanent.

First things first:
Server: HPe Gen9, Xeon E3-1225v5, 64GB ECC
Boot drive: Intel 80GB SSD (INTEL SSDSA2M080G2GC). Off-topic: 45,000 power-on hours, 100% health :grin:
ZFS pool: 4x HGST Ultrastar in 2x mirror vdev

After I start TrueNAS, I won't take long for the GUI to become very slow. Clicking something to pop up a menu can take up to a minute sometimes. Then when it finally opens, it can take another 10 seconds for the cursor to change to the finger-icon to indicate its ready for my click. Its rediculously slow :P. My last action led me to post my problem, because now it just hangs loading on 'edit' action on a container app. Refreshing the browser or reloading it doesn't help, it's stuck.

My searches has led me to slow response on the gui, but this always involves a usb drive (thumb or otherwise), and my boot disk is sata ssd (albeit kind of aged, like me :cool:). I looked into it, I can test it, smartctl shows no problems, there's nothing in the logs / dmesg to indicate a problem (sata link errors, for example). That ssd is fine, and has always been fine with other Linux installations, so I don't think that's the problem.

What I do notice is a notification error sometimes, something with chart.release. Problem is, it shows in notifications but when I go to history / failed, its not there.

Another one is a python core dump. Also showed in notifications and popped up in my console. I copied that to a text editor so i saved it, but its also gone from history.