GUI buttons don't work

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andy66

Cadet
OK, I'm brand new to FreeNAS. I just installed 9.1.0 and launched the GUI. I can't even change the admin password. I type a new password in, confirm it and when I click on the "Change Admin Password" button, nothing happens. No hour glass, no error, nothing. Same issue trying to setup volumes. i can enter all the data, but then the "Add Volume" button does nothing. After struggleing for about two hours I'm thinking of writing off FreeNas as junk. Any ideas? Thanks.

J

jkh

I think you might imagine that if most, or even some, people's GUI buttons did not work, FreeNAS would not even make it through the basic acceptance tests before being released. Offering to write it off "as junk" therefore seems both gratuitous and needlessly emotional when asking any question on a volunteer-driven forum.

Perhaps you are clicking the wrong button on your mouse? Some of the more powerful and advanced "power user" mouse models have more than one button, which is why Macs have historically shipped with one button mice. I can click on the Change Admin Password dialog and on the Add Volume as well with no problems - both just work. I am also clicking on my left mouse button, however. It is the one directly under the index finger. Those without index fingers, due to accident or birth defect, may wish to use the next finger over. Good luck!

gpsguy

Which browser are you using? If IE 10, you might want to try Firefox or Chrome.

By the way, FreeNAS 9.1.1-RELEASE is available.

jlpellet

Patron
I did not see any indication of the browser you are using but I suggest you might try another one. Also, you might ensure Javascript is allowed for the IP. Otherwise, seems like you may have a bad install. Might try dling the just-issued 9.1.1. Hope this helps.

Andreas

Cadet