Greetings from a new convert!

Status
Not open for further replies.

ivorycruncher

Dabbler
I've been running a Windows Home Server box as my NAS for the last 2-3 years, first on the original WHS, then an upgrade to WHS 2011. It never ran well, unfortunately, possibly in part due to the now-vintage nForce 4 core with single-core Athlon 64 CPU I was attempting to run it on. With the announcement that Microsoft is pulling the plug on WHS, and the utter hatred I have for the new Metro UI they're forcing on us in Server 2012, I decided to look for an alternative, and found FreeNAS.

Knowing full well my nForce 4 core just wasn't going to cut it, I did some research on FreeNAS sys reqs, and jumped on Newegg and put together a new core, spec'd as follows:

ASRock B75M LGA 1155 motherboard
Intel Celeron G530 CPU
8 GB G.Skill Ripjaw X Series RAM
CORSAIR Builder Series CX430 V2 PSU

That only set me back a hair over $200. I've been an AMD fan for years, largely due to more bang for the buck, but after reading up on Llano vs. SandyBridge, I determined that while AMD is better at graphics, Intel is better for raw number-crunching, so it made sense to go Intel this time. Also, I could have gotten a slightly cheaper motherboard, but sheesh, finding an LGA 1155 board that has more than one SATA III port for cheap is not easy (my board has three). Practically all the AMD boards I looked at are full of SATA III ports, no SATA II in sight. Not sure what Intel's problem is, but AMD clearly has them beat on chipsets in this regard.

Anyway, I then salvaged the two perfectly good 2TB SATA III Western Digital Green drives from my WHS box, where they had been running in a hardware RAID 1 array (poorly), and installed FreeNAS on a Kingston 4GB flash drive I had handy. After offloading all my data to another drive, I setup a proper 2 TB mirror running ZFS, and then copied everything back over the network.