Grade my build

jayecin

Explorer
Hello,

I am new to freenas, but experienced in IT, specifically network engineer. I recently put together a new home server that I plan on running FreeNas on and I was hoping you guys could give me any feedback about possible issues , things I should change or anything else regarding my server. Some background information, as I said I am a 12+ year enterprise network engineer, this build is strictly to be used for my home/personal reasons or hobby projects. Previously I was using a Dell R720 with Dual Xeon E5-2690s and 128GB ECC Ram. The reason I am getting rid of this setup is 1. Noise and power, 2. Size and 3. Just being old out dated processors and trying to get off enterprise equipment for cost and simplicity. Previously on my server I ran Windows 2012 on the bare metal and virtualbox for any VMs which were usually just lab stuff. I also used the server to back up my local computers and files, but not every drive was raid and I had multiple points of failure.