Intel Xeon E3-1220v5 3.0GHz
64GB ECC memory
8x WD Enterprise 1TB HDD
2x WD Enterprise 2TB HDD
4x Samsung SSD SM863 480GB
1x Intel SSD S3500 80GB

My thoughts for the use of all the harddrives in my NAS is like this:
2x 2TB samba shares for backup
8x 1TB iSCSI either all 8 in a mirrored VDEV or 2 VDEVS with 4 mirrored drives?
4x Samsung SSD in a mirrored VDEV for the single use of running a Pervasive database managing bookings.
1x Intel SSD either as an SLOG for the database VDEV or for the 8x1TB system/data VDEV?

Im a total beginner with all this so bare with me.

I will run 4-6 virtual machines from my ESXI host.
1 windows server 2012 and 3-5 windows 8 clients.
The windows server will be the machine using most of all this space, the clients will each be given 150GB of space for system install nothing else.
My thoughts on the database is that i should run it as an iSCSI LUN with both the database software and the database it self on it. Or should i set it up as an ordinary dataset instead of a ZVOL?

The main goal is for the database to run as smooth as possible, so any help with tweaking, settings, block size, sync-write etc would help me alot!

Does my thoughts sound correct or should i rethink everything?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Dudde

Explorer
I try to stack up my questions in hope for better luck.

1. Should i divide my 8x 1TB drives in two vdev of 4 drives in each, 4 for system install and 4 for data? Is there any performance boost or problem i might run in too that would make either choice a better one?

2. Should i use my SLOG device for the database VDEV or would it be a better choice to add it to my system VDEV (8x1TB)?

3. Should the database VDEV be an normal dataset or is better to create an ZVOL and connect it with iSCSI over SMB share? Both the database and the software will be running on it.

4. Is there any perticular tip anyone could give for running a pervasive database from FreeNAS, block size etc?