FTP over TLS "Failed to retrieve directory listing"

HIPPOLICE

Dabbler
So this will be my second ever post here on the forums but I need help again and I got some very helpful advice the last time! This time I need help setting up FTP for my FreeNAS box. I'm completely self taught in anything computers and I'm in WAY over my head here, so don't crucify me! I'm attempting to setup my FreeNAS for remote FTP access and I have already been at this for I kid you not 10HRS+ between troubleshooting all the issues I've run into. As of now I've gotten the port forwarding setup for port 21, setup the certificates for FTP over TLS (this was especially a pain for me), and now I've run into an issue in filezilla where it will accept my credentials and log in but will say "failed to retrieve directory listing". I havent been able to find anything especially useful here on the forums or otherwise. anyone have ideas?????? I feel like I've tried everything at this point. here is what I'm getting from filezilla.

Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
Status: Server sent passive reply with unroutable address. Using server address instead.
Command: MLSD
Error: Connection timed out after 20 seconds of inactivity
Error: Failed to retrieve directory listing

also, I am running filezilla on a separate laptop on my phones hotspot to act as my external connection.

D

dlavigne

Were you able to resolve this? If not, we'll need more info as per the Forum Rules such as FreeNAS version, output of ifconfig, and any errors in /var/log/messages or /var/log/auth.log when the connection times out.

HIPPOLICE

Dabbler
Were you able to resolve this? If not, we'll need more info as per the Forum Rules such as FreeNAS version, output of ifconfig, and any errors in /var/log/messages or /var/log/auth.log when the connection times out.
Will do! Thanks for the response! I haven't been able to resolve this issue yet.