freenas with bios raid

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone,
Firstly, I am a newbie in FreeNas and sorry for my bad English.
I have tried to configure my server as a shared storage for VMWare servers using FreeNas solution. Here is my FreeNas server specs:
Dell R710
1 x Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5504 @ 2.00GHz
Memory 8161MB
Raid Controller: Dell PERC H700
HDD: 2x 146 SAS 15K, 4 x 1TB SATA 7200

I created 2 raid arrays: Raid 1 for 2 x 146 SAS 15K (Array1) and Raid 5 for 4 x 1TB SATA 7200 (Array2)
FreeNAS 9.2 was installed on Array1 and on WebGUI, I could see Array2 as A drive.
I created a ZFS volume, compression = off and shared with NFS.

Inside FreeNas server, I try to use "dd" command for testing performance and I found that the write speed is only from 10 - 12 MB/s at the first time using. After referring some suggestions on some forums, I tried to change some thing related sysctl (http://www.mamisano.com/2009/10/28/freenas-tuning-for-better-performance/) and the write speed is increased to around 30 MB/s

I though it is not expected speed and the problem because of software raid and I had a plan to use RaidZ1. So, I deleted ZFS volume, deleted Array2 and I had 4 none-raid disks. However, after rebooting, I logged in WebGUI and none of hard disks can detected so I could not do anything.

Please give me some advice in my case. Is 30MB/s max speed I can get with SATA 7200 disks?
Look forward to hearing from all of you.
Best Regards,
Ngo An

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems
Hello Ngo,

FreeNAS is not designed to use RAID arrays - it expects to have a raw, unmanaged disk. Your Dell PERC H700 controller is blocking it from being able to work as expected, because it only allows the creation of arrays rather than passing the disks through. This is why the disks are not visible after deleting Array 2.

The sysctl tuning there is not recommended and it also applies to FreeNAS 7.x as opposed to the 9.2 version you installed recently.