FreeNAS user permission problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

jetster

Dabbler
I shutdown a desktop for the day. Booted back up and it cant access FreeNAS server using the Windows UNC path. All the other desktops do still
Maybe IP changed on the desktop? not sure what going on, messed with the permissions I can get to a folder "Home and User" but not the folder I want

I'm new to this so any help would be appreciated

And I have it set to Guest Allowed also

Redcoat

MVP
Is the desktop running W10? Did it get an update and is now showing this issue and/or this one?

Last edited:

jetster

Dabbler
Installed 1709 months ago so I don't think it's the problem but I will check later when I get home

Plus all my desktops are running 10 .1709 .But I may have missed something.

jetster

Dabbler
Okay so I checked the smb2 and activated the service. Did not fix the problem. I created a new smb share and that fixed it. Not sure if that's correct but I can access the folder now. Still can't map it though but that's fine. In really struggling to understand permissions and shares

jetster

Dabbler
SO when I try to drag files from the FreeNAS to the Synology I lose the FreeNAS server and have to reboot it

Only if I grab a bunch at a time. If I do it one or two it works.

Last edited by a moderator:

wblock

Documentation Engineer
Please describe the FreeNAS hardware, particularly how much memory it has.

Redcoat

MVP
I infer that you are using W10 File Explorer to open the folder on FreeNAS that you can now see, selecting files, and dragging them to a Synology that you can also see in W10 File Explorer? And the network connection with FreeNAS is lost during the attempted transfer?
Is this a new issue that started coincident with your difficulty with one W10 machine that you described in your original post? Is the W10 machine on which you are attempting the transfer that which had the original problem? If so, have you tried another machine and what happened?