FreeNAS troubleshooting

Status
Not open for further replies.

Whuckaba

Cadet
Good Afternoon-

I need some help troubleshooting. I have been running FreeNas for several months now with no issues. This is my first freebsd (or other unix-like variant) os that I've personally owned... my webserver is linux, but rarely have to do anything with it at the os level...

On Wednesday 23rd I applied an update to FreeNas:

< freenas-boot/ROOT/FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201509160044 / zfs rw,noatime,nfsv4acls 0 0
> freenas-boot/ROOT/FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201509220011 / zfs rw,noatime,nfsv4acls 0 0
koakuma.local kernel log messages:
> FreeBSD 9.3-RELEASE-p26 #1 r281084+59f7d05: Mon Sep 21 11:47:33 PDT

Over the next several days I found the system turning itself off for no reason.Saturday twice in the span of a few hours.

IPMI doesnt show any abnormal events (temperature, fan speeds, etc). IPMI recording doesn't show any text appearing. I've tried my best to look for logs on the freenas box... but so far I'm not finding anything... logs I find dont seem to report any issues. Not getting any emails from freenas stating any problems (emails do work... getting scrubs and mount changes etc).

So to try to see if it was that update... I rolled back to the previous boot...

< freenas-boot/ROOT/FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201509220011 / zfs rw,noatime,nfsv4acls 0 0
> freenas-boot/ROOT/FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201509160044 / zfs rw,noatime,nfsv4acls 0 0
koakuma.local kernel log messages:
> FreeBSD 9.3-RELEASE-p25 #0 r281084+d3a5bf7: Tue Sep 15 17:52:04 PDT

and its now been stable for 24+ hours again. the only console message I've not seen before was
Sep 27 00:00:00 koakuma syslog-ng[4773]: Configuration reload request received, reloading configuration;

ASRock C2750D4I: Intel Avoton C2750
4x8gb Crucial ECC ram (I couldnt find 16gb at the time of build... but graphs always show a good headroom)
intel 120gb SSD boot
10x 4TB Western Digital Re (as many on intel as possible, but obviously some on marvell) in z2