FreeNAS setup similar to onedrive

Status
Not open for further replies.

T_T

Explorer
Hello !
I have recently put together a computer to run freeNAS. 32TB of storage and just wondering how to set it up. Here is a list of my goals from most important to least important:
- share media files with different users and be able to create user account for my family use also (something similar to onedrive where I could just have an account and login using a computer or a phone and access the file anywhere). I have done some research and found that nextcloud or owncloud would be able to do this. But I do not know how to set it up so that I can access it anywhere. Also, I'm a newbie and do not want to port forward because of security reason. ( I would still do it if there is a safe way. I just dont want to leave it open to the public)
- running a plex media server. Again I do not know how to set it up so that I can access from outside of my house
- this is the least important and I might not do it any time soon but I want to have the ability to do it in the future is to run VMs
So I guess what's I'm really struggling with is finding a way to safely access my files from anywhere. The main thing I want to do is to have something like onedrive.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

danb35

Hall of Famer

garm

Wizard
Well it’s still doable using a tunnel between an external reverse proxy and FreeNAS, but it’s a lot more work.

garm

Wizard
Not if the tunnel is initiated from FreeNAS, then the connection will be passed through the firewall and kept open by the connection?

T_T

Explorer
Then you will not be able to do what you're wanting to do.
Sorry about the confusion. But what I mean is I do not want to just port foward and leave it open to the public. But I guess there would be something like openVPN come in to play. I would port forward as long as it’s safe

I would port forward as long as it’s safe