FreeNAS noob help with Plex -plexpass install

Nacman

Dabbler
Hi all, First post after building my first system. Specs are below.

I built this system for mainly 3 reasons;

Save recorder security camera video (Not yet implemented a system),
Serve up Plex Media (Have it running in a jail on 11.2 and accessible but not sharing anything yet),
Run my HomeSeer Home Automation server in a VM. ( Successful and stable on Win 7 x64).

I followed this guide as best I could (https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...to-install-plex-in-a-freenas-11-0-jail.19412/) as it was as close to 11.2 as I could find searching around.

Using the information contained in that thread I was able to manually install Plex -plexpass via the shell. I can access the Plex web interface fine as well. Then because I am a noob and the new GUI as it pertains to adding storage is different, I am stuck.

The way it is explained in the thread, I get lost in what I am trying to accomplish in the GUI.

I did add storage to the jail via "Mount Points" picking a source "dataset" outside of the jail called called "Movies" in this path /mnt/tank/PlexMediaServer/Movies and set the destination in /mnt/tank/iocage/jails/pms/root/movies ....However when I do that, the jail will not restart. Removing the mount point allows the jail to restart.

I think that is wrong (obviously it wont start) but I am too new to know why and what to do to fix it.

I can browse via a windows client to the dataset "PlexMediaServer and the child "Movies" without issue. I dropped one movie in there, but it doesn't show up in Plex.

I want to learn but I am hitting a brick wall. Probably older than most of you. lol....Probably has something to do with it.

Has anyone produced a good guide for install on 11.2 using the new GUI? or suggestions?

I am willing to post whatever I can to help you help me, but the shell is new to me. I am not too dense I cant follow instructions in it though.

Jailer

Not strong, but bad