FreeNAS hardware configuration and storage questions

celine

Cadet
Hi,

This post covers different topics so excuse me if I shouldn't post here.

I want to build a proxmox infrastructure with the FreeNAS storage unit.
I am a beginner with these FreeNAS and ZFS / RAIDZn subjects.
I need performance and storage for around 40 virtual machines.

For the FreeNAS server, I choice for moment this configuration:

Dell R740 with :
  • Dual Intel Xeon Silver 4208 2.1G, 8C/16T, 9.6GT/s, 11M Cache, Turbo, HT (85W) DDR4-2400
  • Dual 32GB RDIMM, 2933MT/s => 64G (I have read that the more ZFS has available RAM, the more ZFS performs.)
  • BOSS controller card + with 2 M.2 Sticks 240G (RAID 1),FH for the FreeNAS OS installation
  • Dual 960GB SSD SATA Mix Use 6Gbps 512 2.5in Hot-plug AG
  • 6 units of 1.8TB 10K RPM SAS 12Gbps 512e 2.5in Hot-plug Hard Drive
  • Dual Broadcom 5720 Quad Port 1GbE BASE-T, rNDC

On this configuration, I have differents questions:
  • For the CPU part, is it useful to have a double Intel Xeon or only one is enough?
  • Are 64 GB of RAM enough ?
  • Does anyone know if the BOSS + controller card with 2 M.2 240G keys (RAID 1) is recognized by FreeNAS OS?

For the storage part : I read differents topics on the SSD caching and RAIDZ2 / RAIDZ3, but differents opinions...
What's solution is the best ? Cost/Performance
How does SSD caching performance affect the configuration of different drives? And conversely? (SSD caching with 7.2KRPM / 10KRPM)

Indeed I hesitate with (performance for virtual machines):
  • Dual 960GB SSD mix use + 6 units of 1.8TB 10K RPM SAS 12Gbps 512e 2.5in
  • Dual 960GB SSD mix use + 6 units of 4TB 7.2K RPM SATA 6Gbps 512n 3.5in

What's your opinions / recommendations ?

Thanks !

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
Does anyone know if the BOSS + controller card with 2 M.2 240G keys (RAID 1) is recognized by FreeNAS OS?