FreeNAS for small business. Will this FreeNAS? Intel or Supermicro MB?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Desynt

Cadet
Building a FreeNAS for my small business(video production). Yes I am new to this but I still want to build my own and learn.

CPU: Intel - Xeon E3-1275 V6 3.8GHz Quad-Core Processor
Memory: Kingston ValueRAM DDR4 PC19200/2400MHz Intel ECC CL17 2x16GB
Storage: Samsung - 850 EVO-Series 500GB 2.5" Solid State Drive (Plex Media Server data)
Storage: 4x Seagate - IronWolf 10TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive (40TB)
Power Supply: EVGA - SuperNOVA G2 650W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply
Case Fan: Noctua - NF-F12 industrialPPC-2000 IP67 PWM 71.7 CFM 120mm Fan
Case Fan: 2x Noctua - NF-A8 PWM 32.7 CFM 80mm Fan
Motherboard: Intel S1200SPLR (Or should I go with a Supermicro motherboard instead?)
Bootdisk(Mirrored): 2x Force Series™ 3 60GB SATA 3 6Gb/s Solid-State Hard Drive (I have these collecting dust already)
Case: Inter-Tech IPC 4U-4088-S
Wired Network Adapter(10GbE): dual-port Chelsio S320E
Total price: ~$3000

What it will be used for:
  • Storage for up to 5 people.
  • PLEX for up to four multiple streams at the same time(1080p) but would be nice if we also could stream at least one 4k video without issues.
  • Be able to send a download link to customers so they can download a specific file. Using a torrent client or even winrar is usually too advanced for the customer
  • 10gb connection between the NAS and only two PCs(Directly connected to each other with expansion cards SFP+)
  • Host for a homepage in the future
ZFS raid mirrored.

Questions:
What is your opinions and recommendations on my build? Will it work? Is it overkill?

Striped mirrored or just mirrored?

Intel S1200SPLR or Supermicro X11SSM-F? I have to get another CPU to update BIOS on the supermicro to make v6 cpu work? It also does not have support for igpu?