FreeNAS Backup and Storing Data

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fish10800

Cadet
Hi Guys,

I am new to FreeNAS and I have been reading a lot of forum posts over the last few days trying to find answers to my questions before I ask in a post and I have learned a lot. I plan on using my Dell Poweredge T300 for a FreeNAS server for some home user features.

I intend to setup a basic Windows Share to backup all my pictures, music, and other files from Windows to FreeNAS. I would also like to experiment with Owncloud and MineOS plugins as well as some of the other plugins.

Here is where my question comes into place, I am an IT consultant and I am used to doing things on the Windows side. I know things will be different with FreeNAS as I have read many times. Can someone confirm for me the way to backup my data if it is stored on FreeNAS. What I am used to seeing is having a server and backing up all that data to either a NAS or external USB drives using software. Then rotating out the drives so you always have a current backup and store a weeks worth of backups.

If I use FreeNAS as a backup source for my PC that would be fine because I have the files stored on my PC and I am backing them up to another location. In the event of a PC crash or FreeNAS crash all my files would be in two locations, My PC and FreeNAS. Now, if I start storing data only on my FreeNAS server how does that get backed up? I read that USB devices are not recommended and I read that you can setup CrashPlan to backup you data to the cloud. I am not a fan of cloud based backups so is there an option to backup all data stored on FreeNAS to external drive or local USB drive somehow? Or, is that not a recommended solution? Is CrashPlan my only option?