FreeNAS and Plex

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone.

I'm very very new to all this. I have not done any networking in a very long time (10+ years). I'm looking to run Plex to stream all my pictures and videos (DVD and Blu-Ray) to my TV's throughout my house. Could possibly stream to 4 different TV's simultaneously. Mostly on Apple platform (iPhones, iPads, Apple TV's) so I would assume not a ton of transcoding but possibly some.

On top of storing all my media and being a media server, I also want to use my NAS as file backup with redundancy and I want to use it as my families personal cloud storage system.

I guess my main concern is... Will FreeNAS handle all of these task appropriately? I have read many threads in FreeNAS having issues with the Plex plug in. What's the truth with this?

Thanks for your input everyone. Just want to get my info in order and a good understanding before I build my system and start squiring hardware.

-OSG-

RemyZ

Contributor
I am going the same route. My system is not fully built at the moment. I get the gist of what you are asking.FreeNas wont handle these tasks it will be the Plex Media Server backend plugin that is in a jail that will handle the tasks. The front end would be the Apple TV, iPhones and iPads asking PMS for the data. As long as you are following general guidelines for the build you should be fine. What I mean by that is hardwired connection for the NAS/Plex Server to the Router/Switch. Great Wifi Coverage throughout the house etc.
I have read those same forums and I think the bugs have been worked out since for new FreeNas/Plex builds.