FreeNAS 11-RC dependable?

Status
Not open for further replies.

phoanglong

Cadet
Hi guys,

When it comes to FreeNAS, I am considering myself no better than a first-grader, cause I have been reading, researching a lot of information on setting up, configuring etc... and the more I read, the more I think of myself as a complete newbie. There is just an overwhelming number of issues needed to address, such as hardware and software incompatibilities . So please excuse me with two things, my English (as it is not my first language) and second would be my questions.

I have been running my HomeLab on XPEnology (Synology ported OS) for nearly two years with a minimum hardware (like core i3-3240, 4gb rams etc..), it has been serving me well, but recently it started to go haywire, disk plugged in and out without any external forces, restart 3 - 4 times a day without power lost, etc...

I think it is the time to put an end to my old hardwares. Then I go and do my research, found out about FreeNAS 10 (Corral), so excited that I have been ordering new parts to replace my out of date system. Suddenly FreeNAS 10 is no longer in production and I must say, I really like the new UI and VMs capabilities.

My configuration:
1. MOB: Supermicro X10SAE
2. Chip: Xeon E3-1225 V3
3. Ram: 8GB ECC UDIMM Kingston (will upgrade to 16gb maybe 32gb and eventually replace Kingston brand)
4. HDDs: 5 x 4 TB (2 x Seagate Desktop HDDs, 1 x Seagate Surveillance HDD, 2 x Western Digital RED)
5. SSDs: 2 x Transcend 250 gb (for cached)

What I want to do with my system
1. Streaming movies, music (using Plex), enough for 2 transcoding streams

2. Files & cloud server (currently running Synology Cloud Station but I guess by switching to FreeNAS, I have to ditch it and go for NextCLOUD or OwnCloud)

3. Photo Station (currently running Synology Photo Station, can't seem to find a replacement software) for automatic photos backup from 3 iphones, 2 androids, 1 GoPro, few cams