FreeNAS-11.2-U5 to U7 Failure

silverwolf

Cadet
I am having an issue upgrading from U5 to U7. When I click "Fetch and Install Updates" it acts as though it is going through the motions. However, when it restarts it reverts to U5. I have also tried to install manually with a 11.3 TAR file, which also failed.

MOBO: Supermicro X9DRI-F+
CPU: Dual Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.60GHz
RAM: 256GB (16x16GB)Kingston DDR3 1600 ECC
HBA: LSI 9305-24i 20x 10TB WD Red HDDs, 4x WD Red 4TB SSDs,
NVMe Expansion: 2x WD Black 2TB
NIC: Mellanox MCX312A-XCBT ConnectX-3 Pro 10Gbps Dual-Port SFP
NIC (iSCSI): Mellanox CX314A MCX314A-BCCT ConnectX-3 Pro 40GbE Dual-Port QSFP+

Could someone point to where to start troubleshooting? When I check var/log/messages nothing strikes me as an obvious problem (Though I don't really know what I would be looking for).

Currently I have a SAMBA share that has data that is incredibly important on HDDs and iSCSI for SSDs/NVMe (which aren't really being used yet).

Help would greatly be appreciated.

Thanks,

Silver

msbxa

Contributor
When you're not sure where to start, do the following:
1- Make a backup of your current config file.
2- Restart your current FreeNAS 11.2-U5 and make sure everything is still up and running.
3- Upgrade to FreeNAS 11.2-U6 if possible and make sure everything is still up and running.
4- Now try to upgrade to FreeNAS 11.2-U7 and let us know how it went.

Note: Remember your warden will still run without upgrading.

silverwolf

Cadet
msbxa,

When I try to install the manual TAR file of U6 I get this error. When I tried to update to 11.3 I got a similar error. When Freenas tries to pull in the update it 11.2 U7, so I opted to manually install U6.

[MiddlewareError: Could not destroy memory device: mdconfig: ioctl(/dev/mdctl): Device busy ]

Error: Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/lib/python3.6/site-packages/middlewared/job.py", line 332, in run
await self.future