Register for the iXsystems Community to get an ad-free experience and exclusive discounts in our eBay Store.

FreeNAS 11.1 - iocage - pkg missing?

Western Digital Drives - The Preferred Drives of FreeNAS and TrueNAS CORE
Status
Not open for further replies.

JoeB

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2014
Messages
121
I have FN11.1-PRE installed, when i create and enter an iocage jail, pkg appears to be missing and cant be found.

Any ideas?

# pkg update
The package management tool is not yet installed on your system.
Do you want to fetch and install it now? [y/N]: y
Bootstrapping pkg from pkg+http://pkg.FreeBSD.org/FreeBSD:11:amd64/quarterly, please wait...
pkg: Error fetching http://pkg.FreeBSD.org/FreeBSD:11:amd64/quarterly/Latest/pkg.txz: Non-recoverable resolver failure
A pre-built version of pkg could not be found for your system.
Consider changing PACKAGESITE or installing it from ports: 'ports-mgmt/pkg'.
 

JoeB

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2014
Messages
121
I cant ping anything:

# ping pkg.FreeBSD.org
ping: ssend socket: Operation not permitted

The same ping succeeds from the 'old' warden jails.
 
D

dlavigne

Guest
Does adding an entry of 8.8.8.8 to the iocage jail's /etc/resolv.conf resolve the issue?
 

JoeB

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2014
Messages
121
It's already there:

Code:

# Generated by resolvconf
search local
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4
nameserver 192.168.1.1


 

JoeB

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2014
Messages
121
Ive just installed FreeNAS 11.1-RELEASE.

Deleted the jail, and recreated, ticked allow_raw_sockets.

I still cannot ping anything or install pkg.
 

RegularJoe

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2013
Messages
326
what does ifconfig show, are you using DHCP or the pool configured from the template?
 

JoeB

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2014
Messages
121


Welcome to FreeBSD!

Release Notes, Errata: https://www.FreeBSD.org/releases/
Security Advisories: https://www.FreeBSD.org/security/
FreeBSD Handbook: https://www.FreeBSD.org/handbook/
FreeBSD FAQ: https://www.FreeBSD.org/faq/
Questions List: https://lists.FreeBSD.org/mailman/listinfo/freebsd-questions/
FreeBSD Forums: https://forums.FreeBSD.org/

Documents installed with the system are in the /usr/local/share/doc/freebsd/
directory, or can be installed later with: pkg install en-freebsd-doc
For other languages, replace "en" with a language code like de or fr.

Show the version of FreeBSD installed: freebsd-version ; uname -a
Please include that output and any error messages when posting questions.
Introduction to manual pages: man man
FreeBSD directory layout: man hier

Edit /etc/motd to change this login announcement.
root@radarr2:~ # ifconfig
bge0: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=c0099<RXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,VLAN_HWTSO,LINKSTATE>
ether 9c:b6:54:0c:a8:23
hwaddr 9c:b6:54:0c:a8:23
media: Ethernet autoselect (1000baseT <full-duplex>)
status: active
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
options=600003<RXCSUM,TXCSUM,RXCSUM_IPV6,TXCSUM_IPV6>
groups: lo
bridge0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
ether 02:05:b0:13:c7:00
groups: bridge
id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 hellotime 2 fwddelay 15
maxage 20 holdcnt 6 proto rstp maxaddr 2000 timeout 1200
root id 00:00:00:00:00:00 priority 32768 ifcost 0 port 0
member: epair0a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 4 priority 128 path cost 2000
member: epair5a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 9 priority 128 path cost 2000
member: epair4a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 8 priority 128 path cost 2000
member: epair3a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 7 priority 128 path cost 2000
member: epair2a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 6 priority 128 path cost 2000
member: epair1a flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 5 priority 128 path cost 2000
member: bge0 flags=143<LEARNING,DISCOVER,AUTOEDGE,AUTOPTP>
ifmaxaddr 0 port 1 priority 128 path cost 20000
epair1a: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=8<VLAN_MTU>
ether 02:95:90:00:05:0a
hwaddr 02:95:90:00:05:0a
media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
status: active
groups: epair
epair2a: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=8<VLAN_MTU>
ether 02:95:90:00:06:0a
hwaddr 02:95:90:00:06:0a
media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
status: active
groups: epair
epair3a: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=8<VLAN_MTU>
ether 02:95:90:00:07:0a
hwaddr 02:95:90:00:07:0a
media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
status: active
groups: epair
epair4a: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=8<VLAN_MTU>
ether 02:95:90:00:08:0a
hwaddr 02:95:90:00:08:0a
media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
status: active
groups: epair
epair5a: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=8<VLAN_MTU>
ether 02:95:90:00:09:0a
hwaddr 02:95:90:00:09:0a
media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
status: active
groups: epair
epair0a: flags=8943<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
options=8<VLAN_MTU>
ether 02:95:90:00:04:0a
hwaddr 02:95:90:00:04:0a
media: Ethernet 10Gbase-T (10Gbase-T <full-duplex>)
status: active
groups: epair
root@radarr2:~ #
 

RegularJoe

Senior Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2013
Messages
326
OK Joe I see your new, are you using iocage commands to get to the console? Have you read the jail part of the manual? I am just starting with iocage jails as well.

iocage list
iocage df
iocage console examplejail
 

JoeB

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2014
Messages
121
Yeah. This was from within the jail. The only way to enter a new gui jail is via iocage AFAIK.
 

JoeB

Member
Joined
Oct 16, 2014
Messages
121
I've tried over and over to create a 11.1 jail with access to the internet, but i cannot figure out what else i'm supposed to do!

I've created a fresh 11.1 jail, given it an ipaddress 192.168.1.114.

I cannot ping the jail from windows, and i cannot ping anything from within the jail either.

Can someone please try to create a jail that has internet access with the new GUI and 11.1-RELEASE in the jail, so i can rule out FN not working correctly, please?
 
D

dlavigne

Guest
I've tried over and over to create a 11.1 jail with access to the internet, but i cannot figure out what else i'm supposed to do!

I've created a fresh 11.1 jail, given it an ipaddress 192.168.1.114.

I cannot ping the jail from windows, and i cannot ping anything from within the jail either.

Is the subnet mask correct? Is the default gateway and DNS set?
 

nojohnny101

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
1,474
@dlavigne I am facing the same thing with a newly created iocage jail from within the new GUI. My subnet mask is custom and I can't find anywhere in the GUI to set the subnet mask (I tried adding a /16 to the end of the static IP for the jail but that didn't work either).

This must be set through the CLI? I've been over the documentation multiple times but I could just be missing it.
 

INCSlayer

Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2015
Messages
193
I've tried over and over to create a 11.1 jail with access to the internet, but i cannot figure out what else i'm supposed to do!

I've created a fresh 11.1 jail, given it an ipaddress 192.168.1.114.

I cannot ping the jail from windows, and i cannot ping anything from within the jail either.

Can someone please try to create a jail that has internet access with the new GUI and 11.1-RELEASE in the jail, so i can rule out FN not working correctly, please?

this depends on if your using VNET or not but basically if your doing it through the ui then on the line for "ipv4 address" simply write:

if not using vnet:
[name of host interface]|[ip address] example: igb1|192.168.1.16
if using vnet then make sure vnet is checkmarked and do:
vnet0|[ip address]

not entirely sure if its needed or not but i define it for both the jails anyway and that is to set "Default Router" to whatever your standard gateway is.

it is what i have for my test jails and they both have internet
 

Alecmascot

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Mar 18, 2014
Messages
768
I had a go through the new gui on 11.1 recently and gave up......
The cli works fine :

iocage create -n examplejail ip4_addr="bge0|192.168.1.10/24" -r 11.1-RELEASE
 

nojohnny101

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
1,474
I'm still stuck guys. I have tried the manual command that @Alecmascot pointed out but if I use the igb0 interface that my FreeNAS uses then I can no longer SSH into my box (like that creates a conflict).

What "interface" should we choose? If I make one up like "igb1" then the jail won't start because it says the "interface doesn't exist".
 

nojohnny101

Neophyte Sage
Joined
Dec 3, 2015
Messages
1,474
Well I got it working by just going through the interfaces. To be more explicit and to help others. Once inside the jail (by leaving the GUI IPv4 address space with only the IP address and the subnet mask, in my case: 10.0.1.88/16)
- then I would SSH into FN, then into the jail "iocage console jailname"
- type "ifconfig". this will list the available interfaces
- then, in my case, I saw "bridge0" listed
- go back to the GUI, stop the jail, then I added "bridge0|" to the beginning of the IPv4 address in the GUI so it looked like this: bridge0|10.0.1.88/16

then my jail was able to reach the internet
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top