Fractal Design Node 304 Fan Controller Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

chrisolson09

Dabbler
Hey all,

I'm in the process of building my first freenas and am super excited! I'll admit I'm a newbie when it comes to building machines and was hoping you guys could help me out. My NAS specs are:

Node 304 Case
Seasonic G series 450 Modular
Supermicro Xeon D 1521 combo
Noctua CPU fan

The problem i'm running into is with the fans connections. The case comes with a fan controller but there is no plugs on the power supply to plug in the 4 pin molex connector to power case fan controller.

The motherboard has 4 fan headers but some things I've read seem to indicate that the Node 304 fans cannot be controlled by the motherboard so they have replaced the stock fans with Noctua PWM fans and use a script to control the fans (which is something that seems way out of my league).

I'd really appreciate any insight you guys could give me on understanding the best way for me to connect these case fans! Thanks!

Chris

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
You can connect and fan to the motherboard. Just plug them into the fan headers.

chrisolson09

Dabbler
You can connect and fan to the motherboard. Just plug them into the fan headers.
Really that’s it?? That’s how I have it now but from the things I’ve read I wasn’t sure.

Does it matter that the fans plugs are 3 pin the motherboard fan headers are 4 pin?

MrToddsFriends

Documentation Browser
This thread contains a very instructive Node 304 / Xeon D build report (original fans replaced by 4-pin Noctua fans controlled by the mainboard).
https://forums.freenas.org/index.ph...node-304-x10sdv-tln4f-esxi-freenas-aio.57116/

I'm using a Node 304 case with Noctua fans, too, with only 3 fans (of total 4, including CPU) controlled by the motherboard (Avoton here, not Xeon D, exhaust fan controlled by Node 304).

Last edited:

MrToddsFriends

Documentation Browser