First TrueNAS Scale NAS build

vayer

Cadet
Hi,

I'm currently planning my first TrueNAS Scale build and I would love a few recommendations for it. The usage of the server will be mostly photography storage(I'm a concert photographer), backing up important files, running a few TrueNAS apps like Plex, Nextcloud, Pihole, Timemachine and etc. Also occasionally I would like to spin a few vms to play and thinker with, host some personal projects or a lightweight k3s cluster. But the main goal is the storage of photos.

The current parts I am considering are:
Ryzen 9 5900x
4 x Seagate Exos 10tb drives (3 in raid 5 array, 1 in separate pool for non-important data like movies)
1tb SSD (for apps and vms)
Seasonic 80+ gold psu
64 or 128 gb ram
Noctua cpu cooler

So I need a good recommendation for a motherboard and ram. For the motherboard my only requirements would be to have 4 ram slots, 2+ nvme slots and preferably to not be an expensive rgb gaming board.
The case I have left for last because I am still figuring out where should I put it and if putting it in a wardrobe would temper with the performance of the cooling fans.

Thanks in advance

Krill

Cadet
Question from a lay person:

4 x Seagate Exos 10tb drives (3 in raid 5 array, 1 in separate pool for non-important data like movies)

If using RaidZ1, and all the drives are identical, why not just use them all as one vdev and use datasets to separate out the actual storage space?

vayer

Cadet
Question from a lay person:

If using RaidZ1, and all the drives are identical, why not just use them all as one vdev and use datasets to separate out the actual storage space?
Well if I use all of the drives in the array the actual storage I will get will be less, right? And as I said the one lonely drive will be for data that I don't find critical to lose.

chuck32

Guru