First Time FreeNAS'er (Hardware Help)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vertecs

Cadet
Hi,

Id like to start off by saying im not new to building pc's or networking, What i am new to is Server Hardware.
So let me begin by saying what im wanting to do with a DIY Freenas box, i currently have a 3tb (seagate barracuda 7200rpm) drive along with a 500gb nvme drive and a 1tb ssd. I want to remove the spinning drive and put it into a NAS along with 2 more 3tb Drives (WD Red). Due to other members of my family running out of storage on their mobile devices and laptops i figure now is a good time to look into building a NAS and give each member their own respective area on the NAS. Another requirement is to use it as a Plex server, some of the files i have are .MKV and i stream them to my chromecast etc so it would need to do transcoding for at least 1 1080p stream but preferably 2-3 or maybe even 4k for future proofing so i would pressume i would need a strong cpu.

i have a budget of around £300 - £370 to get a motherboard, CPU and 16gb of ECC memory. the less i

When it comes to motherboard specs i think ECC is the way to go as well as needing at least 4 sata ports on the motherboard (more is a bonus). I would also like it to have a Intel NIC on as i dont really want to have to go and buy a NIC due to a semi tight budget and it also HAS to be able to fit inside a NODE 304 from fractal (so probably mini ITX) as it will be going inside a desk unit

Some of the boards i have been looking at.
ASROCK RACK C2750D4I with the Avaton 8 core (I dont seem to be able to get one in the UK for a reasonable price - Around £370-£450 depending on where it is bought and after import taxes) - this is out of my budget
ASROCK RACK C2550D4I with the Avaton Quad Core (This one i can get for around £290 so is at the very top end of my budget but would still need to get ECC memory)