First-time build sanity check, PSU sizing, and case airflow

uniFox

Cadet
Hi guys!

I’m new to TrueNAS. I’m doing my first-time build and I wanted to get some feedback/get a sanity check of the components I’ve chosen and solve some questions that I have from the more experienced users of TrueNAS.

I intend to use TrueNAS Scale. I’ll be using it to:
  • Store some important personal files (i.e., files, photos, videos) and sync that to cloud storage for backup
  • Use it as a media center (e.g., Plex)
  • Deploy containers for my personal programming projects (dev, test, production environments), my own docker registry, gitlab...
  • I’ll probably use other applications, but I haven’t gone through that yet
What I have and plan to use until I can upgrade:
  • HDDs: 3 x Seagate BarraCuda 500 GB 7200 RPM
  • SSD 1: Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB
  • SSD 2: Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
What I’m buying:
You can check out the setup at: https://pcpartpicker.com/list/6tWjrD
Note that the case is not the same as the choice listed here. The one in pcpartpicker was my second option. I’ve been unable to put my first choice there because pcpartpicker does not have it.

What I’m not sure if I really need to buy:
What I might buy in the future if necessary:
  • HBA card: The motherboard has 8 SATA connectors, if/when I need more, I’ll have to buy one of these.
  • A graphics card, if I think I need it
  • More HDDs /SSDs
I am aware this build does not support ECC, but I simply can’t afford it. I checked to see if the stores I’ll be buying from had an AMD option that might (i.e., I say might because it seems that ECC support in AMD is not so clear cut) support ECC and still stay within my price range/features, but no luck. In any case, for what I want I think I can live without ECC.

So I’ve quite a few questions for you guys: