BUILD First NAS build - Much advice wanted please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dwayneson

Dabbler
Hi All,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to read this and hopefully provide advice. I am a complete novice to the world of building computers. I am basically you're average joe who knows how to use windows and common programs OK and that's about it. I have spent many hours over the last couple months trying to educate myself reading online and talking to local computer shops so that I could hopefully build the NAS I am after. I'm sick of having 3 external HDD's plugged in to my laptop and all running 24/7. I have not learnt much about FreeNAS yet but from what I know it works well and it supports kodi so I have tried to put together 2 NAS builds that suit it. There are probably a lot of features on certain motherboards that would be beneficial but unfortunately I may not be able to make use of them due to my lack of knowledge. Anyway, I would very much appreciate your thoughts/advice whether they are positive or negative.

I'll start by saying what I want to use it for:
- storage of all my media. I currently have approx 1TB of stuff that is extremely important (family videos/photos) and 5TB of stuff that is less important (my ripped blurays/itunes music library). This is just on external HDD's at the moment with no back up. Both of these will continue to expand over time. Its hard to say how much but maybe 3TB/year? I plan to keep a back up of my important stuff on the external HDD's once they have all the other media transferred to the NAS.
- streaming said media using ethernet cable via router to multiple kodi boxes (likely to be WeTek Hubs when they arrive on shelves, 2 in my house, and 1 in my mums house via plexbmc or plex). I don't think there will be a need for transcoding as the hubs should play everything I've got but it wouldn't be the first time I'm wrong.
- I want to look in to running sickbeard/couch potato