First NAS build: Avoton 8 Core and 24TB WD Red

Status
Not open for further replies.

blahhumbug

Dabbler
Hi,

I'm brand new to the FreeNAS community and NASes in general. I've been planning to build one for years, but was just never happy with the part combinations I could find, the price points, and the total noise levels and power consumption levels of the parts I would try to combine. This year, I finally came up with a part list that makes me really excited to build my first NAS, so I just pulled the trigger and ordered everything.

Asrock C2750D4I (Avoton 8-core)
4 x Kingston 8GB DDR3-1600 ECC Unbuffered (KVR16E11K4/32)
8 x Western Digital Red 3TB (WD30EFRX) - raid-z2
Silverstone DS380B Mini ITX Tower Case
Silverstone Strider Gold 450W SFX Power Supply (ST45SF-G)
Sandisk Cruzer Fit 32GB USB 2.0 Flash Drive (for FreeNAS)
Cyberpower CP850PFCLCD UPS (850VA/510W)

I recognize that some of the parts are a little overkill for the components, particularly the PSU (450 watt) and the UPS (510 watt). I estimate that the system idle power will be around 75w and 120w at full load. However, I have a secondary goal of having the quietest system I possibly can. It will be sitting only 4 feet away from my main workstation which is also very silent, so I'm trying to avoid adding more noise to the room as much as possible. The case requires an SFX power supply, so that also removed a lot of lower power options. I don't mind the UPS being oversized though as that just increases my uptime during a powerloss to somewhere around 20-30 minutes and also gives me room to plug the wifi/switch and cable-modem into it as well.

I chose the 8-core Avoton instead of the 4-core because I plan to run a plexserver and a few other services on the machine. I also wanted to leave a little bit of headroom for future growth and additional services. I'd like this NAS build to last me at least 5 years.