BUILD First FreeNAS Build

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all, this is going to be my first FreeNAS box build and I am totally new to FreeNAS. Really liking what I've been reading and seeing. I do currently have a Synology that I use for backups, and I plan to continue to use it for backups of important info, and may even move it offsite. Quick to the point, here's what I'm looking to utilize the box for:

File storage
Media storage
Backups
Plex media server
ROM storage/server?

I'm not really even sure what I'd be able to with the server in regards to emulators and ROMS, I know I'd at least be able to store the ROM files, but other than that I'm not too sure. I'm researching and trying to see what others have done and what they do as all of this is outside my area of expertise.

The list I have so far:
Case - Fractal Design R4
MOBO - ASRock C2750D4I
HDD - 5 x 4TB HGST Deskstar NAS
SDD - Caching/transcoding, virtual machines, not too sure if it's terribly needed?
RAM - Kingston 32GB (4 x 8 GB) KVR16E11K4/32 (I believe is compatible with MOBO)
Power Supply - Corsair AX760 (too much?, I would much rather have more than enough however)

That's the list I have currently. I've read many people have run into problems with the Marvell controllers with the C2750D4I, but I don't plan on using that controller at all, since I would only need 6 SATA ports. If I did however need more, I could just get an additional controller to utilize correct?

Again, see above for uses, 2 plex streams being used at once would be max currently, but mostly just 1. Any help you can all provide is much appreciated. Learning as much as I can and looking forward to learning more and putting it all into practice!

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
760 W is far too much, 450 W would be more than enough ;)

danb35

Hall of Famer