SOLVED Files won't delete from SMB Clients

TravisT

Patron
I'm having a strange problem with TrueNAS. I'm currently running TrueNAS-12.0-U5.1

I've been using this file server and these shares for many years now. Yesterday I noticed that when deleting documents from my MacOS client, the files would delete but shortly after would return. I thought it may be a MacOS specific thing, but I fired up a windows VM, connected to the share and I'm getting the same results.

The files look as if they delete (no indication otherwise) but will return in Finder/Explorer shortly after deleting them. I've also checked on the TrueNAS server through the shell and the files are NOT deleting. I think this is somehow a permissions thing, because when I delete the same file from the TrueNAS shell, it deletes and does not return.

My permissions have always seemed to be wonky, but have worked. I have compared other "working" shares and mirrored permissions and settings exactly, applied recursively.

Any ideas?

Samuel Tai

Never underestimate your own stupidity
What does the smbd.log say when you send a delete request?

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
What are the exact permissions? I've noticed some users have chosen to omit `delete` and `delete child` permissions from ACL entries, which may have impact on ability to delete files.

TravisT

Patron
What does the smbd.log say when you send a delete request?
I'm not seeing the smbd.log in the /var/log/ folder. Am I looking in the right place?

What are the exact permissions? I've noticed some users have chosen to omit `delete` and `delete child` permissions from ACL entries, which may have impact on ability to delete files.
1633100972073.png

Above is what it is currently (I've tried a few things since discovering this problem).

This is how my other datasets are configured:
1633101203011.png

TravisT

Patron
scratch that about the log... found it (/var/log/samba4/log.smbd)

There are a ton of
Code: