Filebrowser for root directory

f2003

Cadet
Hello,

I am new to TrueNAS. I have a hard drive that I would like to share with my TV receiver and my computers. In addition, I would like to install the Filebrowser app in TrueNAS. This should provide access to the shared hard drive. Unfortunately, I can't quite get this to work. I hope you can help:

I created a storage pool called NFS. I enabled sharing via NFS for that pool. I successfully mounted this share on my TV Receiver and stored a recording on this. No I want to install filebrowser.

I switch to the apps section and chose filebrowser to install. In the "Additional Storage" section I chose Typ "Host path". For "Host Path" I typed in "/mnt/NFS". Then I get that error I dont understand:

chart_release_create.filebrowserStorage.additionalStorages.0.hostPath: Invalid path /mnt/NFS. Mounting root dataset or path outside a pool is not allowed

asap2go

Patron
You created a pool called NFS.
Meaning mnt/NFS is the root dataset of the pool.
"Mounting root dataset or path outside a pool is not allowed"
Add another dataset below NFS.

f2003

Cadet
Thanks, I will try this at home later.

Another question came to my mind. I want to install filebrowser (and also other apps) on the host SSD that also runs the TrueNAS OS, so the HDD can go to sleep with the share. How do I set this up?

I would have to create a pool on the SSD for the apps and another pool for the storage. But then I would have to have access from the first pool to the second pool :-?

asap2go

Patron
Thanks, I will try this at home later.

Another question came to my mind. I want to install filebrowser (and also other apps) on the host SSD that also runs the TrueNAS OS, so the HDD can go to sleep with the share. How do I set this up?

I would have to create a pool on the SSD for the apps and another pool for the storage. But then I would have to have access from the first pool to the second pool :-?
I would advise against doing that.