Failed to create tap/bridge devices

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hi-Liter

Explorer
Hi, I am using release 8.0.2 and have problems creating bridges or tap devices. When I try
Code:
ifconfig tap create
or
Code:
ifconfig bridge create
I always get the following error:

ifconfig: SIOCIFCREATE2: Invalid argument

I wonder if the if_bridge/if_tap modules are missing or broken?

(Why I am doing this at all is because I would like to setup OpenVPN inside a jail)

ProtoSD

MVP
Hello Hi-Liter,

I think there are some jail related settings in /etc/sysctl.conf that lets you do that. I'm still learning about jails, but I think I saw something about it.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Yeah, FreeNAS isn't a full FreeBSD, and it doesn't look like bridge or tap are included. Setting up OpenVPN in a jail is a cool idea :smile: but probably not possible without some twiddling about.

Hi-Liter

Explorer
@protosd: The problem I'm having right now doesn't (at least not directly) have anything to do with the jail. The problem is, that since the jail does not allow creating TUN/TAP devices - which are needed by openvpn - I have to create a tap device on the host (FreeNas) and clone it. But not even creating the device on the host works, since (and that's my guess) the if_tap/if_bridge modules are missing/broken.

If you would like to know more about running openvpn inside a FreeBSD jail, I found this thread to be very helpful:
http://forums.freebsd.org/showthread.php?t=22143