Extrem power efficient FreeNAS

Status
Not open for further replies.

silencium

Cadet
Hi everyone,

here in Germany the bills for energy consumption are piling up and are getting bigger and bigger.
I am a system administrator and need to educate myself from time to time at home. For that reason I have 3 servers at the moment.

1) 1231v3, 32GB DDR3, 1TB SSD, Supermicro X10SLM-+LN4F, SeaSonic Platinum PSU 400W fanless ~45W
2) 1231v3, 32GB DDR3, 1TB SSD, Supermicro X10SL7-F, 1x 10TB WD Red SeaSonic Platinum PSU 400W fanless ~60W
The VM for FreeNAS has 16GB RAM, 6 Cores :D and of course the LSI-Controller for SMART!

3) 2620v4, 72GB DDR4, 1.8TB SAS, ProLiant Gen9 ~85W

Adding two UniFi 24 and an 8 Port Switch + FritzBox! 6590 and you are eating up round about 250W. 24/7 this adds up being roughly 650€ a year! Welcome to Germany :) I think at this point I will have explained why I want to reconstruct my Homelab. CPU is like 95% of the time at around 5% idle?! I barely use CPU-Power but I need the RAM. So in total I need around 128GB Ram. I use VMWare right now and that won't change. Server no. 2 is the one hosting FreeNAS (on 2 SSDs, redundancy).
I do not need more than the one 10TB drive, for now. Maybe I will upgrade to another 10TB drive in the future.

So what I need are 3 systems, which give me the freedom of using basically more RAM than I can right now and that use less power. I hope to get them all down to around 25 - 30W. Do you guys see any possibility there?

The FreeNAS Server is only for me and my wife. I backup the vCenter + 2 Clients onto the 10TB + I have some SMBs. The Server doesn't need to encode or decode stuff. Its basically a fileserver. No Jailes (yet).