ESXI + FreeNAS 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

Miniwehats

Explorer
I have also posted this on Vmware forums:

Hello I am fairly new to setting up Esxi but I have a little test server running in my home and have settup a few VMs on it and played around a bit with it. I am building a new Esxi server in the next few weeks and am having some issues figuring out how exactly I am going to do some things. Please forgive my ignorance I have had a difficult time finding answeres to my questions. And I am also having an issue articulating this into a understandable question.

What I want to do : Building a new ESXI Server - AMD quad 3.6 FX 16gb RAM booting ESXI off USB.
-FreeNAS VM
-Server 2008 VM
-Random other VMs

What I want to do is build all this in one single box but my issues is how FreeNas will load and where since all my VMs will be build from ISCSI volumes from FreeNAS. FreeNAS runs off a USB drive as well.

Loading FreeNAS as a VM off a usb flash drive, where will the data store for the VM go? Can I build it onto the flash drive? Will I need to just have a single local disk on the ESXI server to have this one single data store? All my orther VMs will run from the FreeNAS volumes i create for them. So if my FreeNAS volume goes down ALL my VMs will go down. Granted I can backup the config and reload FreeNAS and it should all come back up. Should I create a Hardware Mirror of 2 drives locally on the ESXI server to just host the data store of FreeNAS so incase one goes down it can use the mirror?

After reviewing this it seems best practice would be to build my FreeNAS box seperate from the ESXI server but I would really like to build it all in one box to save money.

So would you recommend doing a Mirror on the esxi just for the FreeNAS data store? Or building a second box?

Sorry for the confusion here I am just trying to get this all figured out. And thank you for any help you can provide!

louisk

Patron