Encryption, SED vs FreeNAS built in, user intervention at reboots and updates?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Morty NO

Cadet
Dear all,

Sorry if this question is a bit n00b'ish. I'm new to FreeNAS. I did read the FreeNAS docs about managing encrypted volumens, but I didn't quite wrap my head around it.

I would like to build a NAS, and I need encryption for data at rest, as the NAS contains customer data. It's a small NAS with about 2TB capacity for a small single-person home office.

I know my way around Trusted Platform Modules (TPMs) and self-encrypting drives (SED). Thus I could build a NAS which handles my encryption needs via a TPM & SEDs. This would be OS-agnostic, i.e. FreeNAS wouldn't need to do anything special.

FreeNAS has encryption built in, which I could use instead. First off, I assume that after every reboot or power cycling, the passphrase must be entered to mount the encrypted volume, to guard against theft of the entire unit. Is that assumption correct?

Next, is there a general recommendation about how to secure data at rest with FreeNAS, i.e. which solution is most commonly used and recommended?

Thank you very much! :)

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Is the encryption a legal requirement? A client's requirement? Something that you want because it's cool and/or mitigates $threat?

In the latter case. I recommend reviewing what sort of threat model you're considering where encryption of data at rest is necessary. For reference, my threat model for stuff at home is as follows:

Threat Models.PNG

Encrypting data at rest safely can really suck up a lot of time. and if you screw up you jeopardize your client's data. This is not to say that all you need are strong passwords and you're good. Protecting data at rest is something like CSC 13 in the SANS Top 20, but it doesn't make a ton of sense in a small single-person home office.

http://scholar.harvard.edu/files/mickens/files/thisworldofours.pdf

Last edited: