Do I need a Raid setup? I just have an external 1TB drive.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goldenrottie

Cadet
I have a Sony home theater system w/blue ray etc... I also have an external USB 1TB HDD w/ media on it.
I would like to use an old HP that I have lying around and use it to stream video, music, etc...
After installing freeNAS to USB stick, can I connect my external drive without formatting so that my Blueray will recognize it and I can stream video?

I'm really a novice at this so please excuse me if i've asked a wrong question etc...
Any help would be appreciated :smile:

jafin

Explorer
You cannot have a raid setup with 1 drive. Do you know what format your USB drive is? If it is NTFS or UFS you may be able to import it into freenas via the GUI / Storage / Active Volumes. But to see it from your Sony, I think you'll need to run a DLNA server, and I can't find an option for that under Freenas 8. I'm pretty sure 7.2 had a DLNA server, so you may want to take a look at that version.

If you are able to import the drive, setup DLNA (assuming this is what the blueray device wants) then you shouldn't have a problem streaming it across your network (note: if your network is wireless you may need to test first it may not have the bandwidth for BlueRay HD, if your network is wired, no problem).

See the roadmap for 8.1 looks like DLNA is on the queue. http://doc.freenas.org/index.php/Roadmap_for_8.1

jgreco

Resident Grinch
You cannot have a raid setup with 1 drive.

Well that's not exactly true... it's true that he shouldn't try though. FreeNAS has the very competent ZFS to trivialize things. :smile:

In the old days, we used to use CCD to set up RAID1 between two partitions on the same disk for cases where we thought there might be data loss; even today such cases exist where things like flash go bad. You stand a better chance at recovering data that's been written to more than one place. Of course, the ZFS equivalent of that is "zfs set copies=2".